Guides > How To Remove An Inactive Player’s Tent Residence In Animal Crossing New Horizons

How To Remove An Inactive Player’s Tent Residence In Animal Crossing New Horizons

by Kegan Mooney
Published: Last Updated on

It’s awesome that you can play Animal Crossing New Horizons with friends and family. Frustratingly, if they join your Animal Crossing village and place a tent, then never play again, it stays there. If you’re wondering how to remove an inactive player’s tent or residence in Animal Crossing New Horizons (ACNH), we have the solution for you!

The Issue

If your family member or friend plays ACNH on your Nintendo Switch, they can join your village. When you start the game, you’ll choose a location to place your tent; this is the same when family and friends play too.

The issue is, if they’ve placed the tent down and don’t play often or not at all, there’s no easy way to remove the tent. Or so it seems!

Animal Crossing New Horizons Tent

If a player continues to play on your island, it’s possible to remove their house later in the game. You’ll need to reach certain milestones before this can occur. It costs 50,000 bells to move a residence which is inconvenient, and an expense.

Once you establish that the player never wants to play again, it’s actually easier to remove their player data entirely which will delete their player character and remove their tent (or house).

The Solution

Before deleting a player’s data, it’s best to check that this is okay with them. You won’t want a disgruntled sibling on your hands!

Here’s how to easily remove a player’s tent from your Animal Crossing game:

  • Launch Animal Crossing New Horizons
  • Start the game as the player you want to remove
  • On the title screen, press the “-” (minus) button on your Switch
  • Tom Nook will warn you about changing advanced settings
  • Select “Save Data Settings”
  • Choose “Delete Resident Registration”
  • Tom Nook will explain the details, then select “Delete Resident Registration” again
  • Select “Delete It” (Tom really likes to make sure you’re happy to proceed)

Here’s a visual overview of the steps above:

1. Save Data Settings

delete a player animal crossing

2. Delete Resident Registration

Delete a resident in ACNH

3. Save Data Deleted

delete a player animal crossing

That’s it! You’re all set. You can press the Home button on your Switch and select Animal Crossing New Horizons to play the game on your main account. The player’s tent or residence will now be removed from your island.

How to Remove a Player’s Tent After Deleting the User From Your Switch

The above steps are really helpful when the player in question still has a user account on your Nintendo Switch. But what happens if you’ve already deleted the user? How do you log in with a user that is no longer there?

If you want to delete a player from Animal Crossing that’s no longer on your Switch, there is a solution.

  • Ask a friend or family member to add their user account to your Nintendo Switch.
  • Launch Animal Crossing: New Horizons with their user account.
  • When asked whether the user wants to play Animal Crossing as a new user or an existing user, select existing user.
  • Select the villager that the previously deleted user account was using.
  • Follow the steps in the guide above to remove the inactive player’s tent from Animal Crossing.

Other Animal Crossing Resources

8 comments

Patti September 11, 2021 - 11:30 pm

Thank you baby Jesus!!!

Rachel October 17, 2021 - 7:32 pm

I already deleted their account off of my switch :( Is there another way to get them off the island?

Georgie Peru October 19, 2021 - 8:13 am

I don’t believe there’s a way to remove them once you’ve taken the account off your Switch. The reason being, you need to log in with that account to delete the user data. Is it possible you can re-add them?

Vi Vu November 2, 2021 - 6:50 pm

Hey!!! I actually had the same problem. In the event that you already deleted that specific villager’s Nintendo User, there is still a way to remove that villager! Make a new user on your switch, then proceed to log onto animal crossing with your new user. It will then ask you if you want to play as a new user, or if you want to play as an existing user! Just select the villager whose Nintendo User got deleted. You are now playing as this existing villager, and can proceed to follow the steps to delete them on your game! :) does that make sense? Let me know!!

Kets November 5, 2021 - 1:12 am

THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!!! Omg T~T <3

Megan November 16, 2021 - 6:53 am

You have saved me!! Thank you

Georgie Peru November 16, 2021 - 10:08 am

Thank you, I’ve added this useful information to the guide. :-)

Stella October 22, 2021 - 5:29 am

Commenting here because I’m having the same issue and want to hear if there is a way around this.

Comments are closed.